World T20 2016: Netherlands beat Ireland by 12 runs

10:16 AM | 13 Mar, 2016
World T20 2016: Netherlands beat Ireland by 12 runs
DHARAMSHALA (Staff Report) – Netherlands thrashed Ireland by 12 runs in limited 6 overs rain hit match at Dharamshala Cricket Stadium here on Sunday.

Netherlands scored 59-runs for the loss of six wickets in allotted six overs. In reply, Ireland failed to chase 60.

Daily Pakistan Global Live Scorecard:

Netherlands Squad:

Wesley Barresi (c), Ahsan Malik, Peter Borren, Mudassar Bukhari, Ben Cooper, Vivian Kingma, Stephan Myburgh, Max O’Dowd, Michael Rippon, Pieter Seelaar, Sikander Zulfiqar, Logan van Beek, Timm van der Gugten, Roelof van der Merwe, Paul van Meekeren

Ireland Squad:

William Porterfield (c), Andy Balbirnie, George Dockrell, Andy McBrine, Tim Murtagh, Kevin O’Brien, Niall O’Brien, Andrew Poynter, Stuart Poynter, Boyd Rankin, Max Sorensen, Paul Stirling, Stuart Thompson, Gary Wilson, Craig Young

The result of the Netherlands vs Ireland match will not affect the mega event in any way, however the winner of Bangladesh vs Oman match -other game to be played today- will qualify for the Super 10 round. The qualifying team will play against Pakistan, New Zealand, India and Australia in the next round.

Earlier, from Group B Afghanistan successfully qualified for Super 10 round of the mega event by beating Zimbabwe.

The Super 10 round will start from March 15, where all the games will be played alongside the women’s event from till March 28.

New Delhi and Mumbai will host the semi-finals on 30 and 31 March, respectively, while Eden Gardens in Kolkata will be the venue of the 3 April finals. The women’s semi-finals and final will be followed by the men’s knock-out matches. There is a reserve day for the finals.

The men’s event will carry a total prize money of $5.6million, which is an 86 per cent increase from the 2014 tournament, while the total prize money for the women’s event is $400,000, which is a 122 per cent increase from the Bangladesh event.