UPDATE: PML-N retains NA-19 Haripur in by-poll

05:10 PM | 16 Aug, 2015
UPDATE: PML-N retains NA-19 Haripur in by-poll
HARIPUR (Staff Report) – Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz has retained NA-19 Haripur constituency in a by-poll conducted on the orders of Supreme Court of Pakistan, after a daylong polling on Sunday.

According to results, the PML-N candidate Babar Nawaz Khan got 135809 votes followed by PTI candidate Raja Aamir Zaman who bagged 89716 votes.


As many as nine candidates were in the run for the by-election.

The district administration made elaborate security arrangements to provide peaceful environment to voters on polling day.


Election Commission of Pakistan also adopted bio-metric system at 30 polling stations in NA-19 Haripur.

The seat went vacant when Supreme Court of the Pakistan disqualified PML-N MNA Omar Ayub upon charges. Earlier the seat was won by PTI candidate Raja Aamir Zaman however a re-polling in six polling stations on the orders of an election tribunal reversed his victory.