PSL 2019 Match 6: Quetta beat Islamabad by 7 wickets

06:35 PM | 17 Feb, 2019
PSL 2019 Match 6: Quetta beat Islamabad by 7 wickets
DUBAI - Quetta Gladiators thrashed defending champions Islamabad United by a seven-wicket in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) fixture at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Sunday evening.

Sent into bat, Islamabad United managed to score 157-8 in 20 overs. Wayne scored 41 while Asif Ali 36. Sohail Tanvir took four wickets. In reply,  Quetta chased down the target in just 18.3 overs for the loss of three wickets.  Shane Watson was unbeaten 81 and Umer Akmal scored 44.

The match started at 5-00 pm.

Islamabad United have so far played two matches in PSL–2019, winning one by five wickets against Lahore Qalandars and losing one by five wickets to Multan Sultans. Fast bowler Mohammad Sami is leading the United squad for the first time in place of Misbah-ul-Haq, who is now playing for Peshawar Zalmi.

On the other hand, Quetta Gladiators have shown an excellent performance in the previous match by beating Peshawar Zalmi by six wickets in the 3rd match of PSL 2019.

Sarfaraz Ahmed, the Pakistan skipper and wicketkeeper-batsman, is captaining Quetta Gladiators in his fourth consecutive season.


Islamabad United: Mohammad Sami (C), Luke Ronchi, Sahibzada Farhan, Asif Ali, Hussain Talat, Faheem Ashraf, Zafar Gohar, Waqas Maqsood, Rumman Raees, Shadab Khan, Ian Bell, Philip Salt, Cameron Delport, Samit Patel, Muhammad Musa, Wayne Parnell, Zahir Khan, Amad Butt, Rizwan Hussain, Nasir Nawaz

Quetta Gladiators: Sarfraz Ahmed (C), Sunil Narine, Dwayne Bravo, Shane Watson, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Nawaz, Rilee Rossouw, Umar Akmal, Fawad Ahmed, Anwar Ali, Saud Shakeel, Mohammad Asghar, Danish Aziz, Ahsan Ali, Ghulam Mudassar, Mohammad Hasnain, Harry Gurney, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Azam Khan, Jalat Khan, Mohammad Irfan Jr, Dwayne Smith, Max Waller