Progressive Panel sweeps Lahore Press Club elections 2016

09:17 AM | 18 Jan, 2016
Progressive Panel sweeps Lahore Press Club elections 2016
LAHORE (Staff Report) - Progressive Panel led by Muhammad Shahbaz Mian has swept Lahore Press Club elections 2016, after a day-long polling was held on Sunday.

According to official results, Muhammad Shahbaz Mian was elected as President of the press club for year 2016 with 981 votes. Former President Arshad Ansari remained second with 834 votes.

Meanwhile Abdul Majeed Sajid (928 votes) and Shadab Riaz (996 votes) of the same group won seats of vice president and secretary general respectively. Zaheer Ahmad Babar (984 votes) was elected as finance secretary and Zahid Gogi (1002 votes) as joint secretary.

Rana Shehzad (608 votes), Imran Sheikh (601 votes), Mohsin Ali (581 votes), Azhar Maqbool (561 votes), Jawad Rizvi 559), Ismail Jhakar (545 votes), Furqan Ilahi (543 votes) and Sher Afzal Butt (513 Votes) were elected as members of governing body. All winning candidates of governing body are also members the Progressive Panel.

Earlier on December 30, the allegations of rigging disrupted press club elections and an election body headed by Saleem Bukhari announced to hold elections on January 17.