Murad Ali Shah elected as new Sindh CM

06:39 PM | 29 Jul, 2016
Murad Ali Shah elected as new Sindh CM
KARACHI - On Friday, Syed Murad Ali Shah was elected as the new Chief Minister of Sindh with a majority in the Sindh Assembly.

Shah replaces foromer CM Sindh Qaim Ali Shah, after he was asked by the Pakistan Peoples' Party leadership to step down.

According to the Sindh Assembly Speaker Agha Suraj Durrani, Murad Ali Shah got 88 votes against Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf’s Khurram Sher Zaman, who only received three votes.

He said that 99 lawmakers participated in the voting process.

“I declare Murad Ali Shah to be the Leader of the House,” Durrani said.

The outgoing Sindh Chief Minister Qaim Ali Shah was the first person to vote for his successor.

PPP and PTI were the only two parties to have participated in the election of new Sindh CM.

Muttahida Qaumi Movement, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz and Pakistan Muslim League-Functional did not take part in the voting process.