ISLAMABAD (Staff Report) -The Senate began its 120th session in Islamabad on Monday afternoon with Mian Raza Rabbani in the chair.

The Chairman announced a panel of presiding officers for the current session. Its members are Muhammad Javed Abbasi, Ahmad Hassan and Robina Ifran.

The House offered Fateh for the departed soul of two formers Senators Justice Javed Iqbal and Gulzar Ahmad Khan.

The Senate also unanimously passed two separate resolutions condoling death of retired Justice Javed Iqbal and Gulzar Ahmad Khan.

The house eulogized their services as parliamentarians and said they made valuable contribution to the proceedings of the house.

Presenting report in the House about Mina tragedy, Minister of State for Religious Affairs Pir Aminul Hasnat said the number of martyred Pakistani pilgrims stood at seventy-six besides injuries to forty-seven.

He said that the martyrdom of twenty-nine pilgrims have been confirmed by the Saudi authorities.

Of them, twenty-eight have been buried in Makkah Mukarramah while body of one Asad Gilani has reached Multan on Monday.

The Minister of State said according to eyewitnesses, there are forty-seven other martyrs.

He said seven Pakistani pilgrims are still under treatment in hospitals while 40 others were discharged after treatment.
Pir Aminul Hasnat said there are still sixty Pakistani pilgrims missing.

The Minister of State said personnel of Pakistani Hajj Mission initially participated in rescue and relief activities but the access was denied once Saudi Army and law enforcing personnel reached the scene of the tragedy.

He expressed the hope that Saudi Government would share outcome of the on-going investigations in the incident.

The House passed three motions moved by Farhatullah Babar requiring consideration of three Bills by the joint sitting of the parliament.

The Bills are The Privatization Commission (Second Amendment) Bill, 2015; The Anti-Honour Killings Laws (Criminal Laws Amendment) Bill, 2015; and The Anti-Rape Laws (Criminal Laws Amendment) Bill, 2015.

These Bills were passed by the Senate and transmitted to the National Assembly but were not passed by the lower house within ninety days of their laying in that House.