NA speaker to scrutinise nomination papers of candidates for next PM today

  • President Mamnoon has called a session of Assembly to elect new PM on July 1
  • Khaqan Abbasi, Sheikh Rashid submit nomination papers for premiership

ISLAMABAD – The candidates for the seat of the next prime minister will submit their nomination papers to National Assembly Secretariat today (Monday).

NA Speaker Ayaz Sadiq will also scrutinise the nomination papers today following their submission.

President Mamnoon Hussain has called a session of the National Assembly on August 1 for the election of the next prime minister after the Supreme Court through his landmark ruling on the Panama Papers case has disqualified Nawaz Sharif as PM for not disclosing his employment in the Dubai-based Capital FZE company in his 2013 nomination papers.

Election of interim PM: President Mamnoon calls NA session on Aug 1

The Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz has made consensus on Shahid Khaqan Abbasi, the former petroleum minister, as its candidate for interim prime minister. The election of the PML-N’s fielded candidates to the post is considered to be a foregone conclusion, as the party currently holds a hefty majority in parliament and can independently vote them into office.

Panama Case verdict: Supreme Court disqualifies PM Nawaz Sharif

Nawaz Sharif’s brother, Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif, has been nominated as the party’s candidate for prime minister.

Meanwhile, Khaqan Abbasi and Sheikh Rashid, PTI’s candidate, have submitted their nominations papers to NA Secretariat for the premiership.