ISLAMABAD – The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has issued a list of all registered political parties showing ruling party, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), working without a head of the party.

According to available data, 345 political are registered with the ECP of which Jamhoori Wattan Party, Jamiat Ulema-e-Pakistan (Nifaz-e-Shariat), Millat Party, Mutthida Majlis-e-Amal Pakistan, National Alliance, National Awami Party and Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarians (Patriots) have not appointed their party heads.

Nawaz Sharif, who was earlier president of the PML-N and former prime minister, had lost the position after being disqualified by the Supreme Court for not being honest as he failed to declare his job with Capital FZE, a UAE  based company, in General Elections 2013.

After his disqualification, the ECP subsequently issued notification revoking membership of Nawaz Sharif, besides removing his name as party leader.

Despite lapse of 20 days since the Panama Papers verdict announced on July 28, the ruling party, which selected new prime minister in three days, still mulling over option for a new party chief.

The party’s constitution in its own constitution describes the significance of the post as,  “The President of the Pakistan Muslim League-N shall be the head of the entire organization, shall exercise all the powers inherent in his office and shall see that the office bearers and organizations work consonance with the Constitution of the Pakistan Muslim League-N and any bye-laws adopted under the Constitution”.

In order to fill the vacant post of party chief, the secretary general of the party is liable to call a meeting of Central Working Committee within seven days to elect an actin president.

“If the office of the President falls vacant due to death or resignation or any other reason before the expiry of the term of his office, it shall be duty of the Secretary General to convene within seven days a meeting of the Central Working Committee to elect an acting President and fix a date for the meeting of the Council of PML-N within 45 days of the occurrence of the vacancy to elect the President”.

On August 8, the ECP also issued notice to the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) to appoint a new party head following the disqualification of Nawaz Sharif by the Supreme Court.

The ECP stated in the notice that a disqualified legislator cannot hold any position in a political party under the Political Parties Order 2002.