Pakistan crush Zimbabwe in opening T20I match of triangular series

11:24 AM | 1 Jul, 2018
Pakistan crush Zimbabwe in opening T20I match of triangular series
HARARE - Pakistan was off to a flying start in the Twenty20 tri series with a thumping 74-run win over depleted Zimbabwe on Sunday.

Zimbabwe, going into the series without five top players because of a pay dispute between players and the country's cricket board, was bowled out for 108 after Pakistan had made a strong 182-4.

Opening batsman Fakhar Zaman (61) scored his second Twenty20 international century before Asif Ali blazed four sixes in his robust unbeaten 41 off 21 balls that advanced Pakistan's total.

With this victory, Sarfraz Ahmed set a world record of winning the most T20 internationals – 20 out of 23 matches in which he led Pakistan team.

Zimbabwe's batting crumbled against Pakistan's experienced spinners as Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Nawaz and Shadab Khan shared five wickets between them.

Tarisai Musakanda top scored with 43 and was one of the three batsmen to reach double figures.

Pakistan will take on Australia in the second match of the series on Monday.

The three teams will play each other twice, with a rest day on Saturday before the top two sides meet in next Sunday's final.

Muhammed Amir will not be a part of Pakistani squad. The experienced Mohammad Hafeez will return to the top order after his bowling action was cleared as legal last month.

The tri-series is taking place from July 1 to July 8 in Zimbabwe.

T20I Triangular Series Fixtures

July 1: Sunday Zimbabwe vs Pakistan

July 2: Monday Pakistan vs Australia

July 3: Tuesday Australia vs Zimbabwe

July 4: Wednesday Zimbabwe vs Pakistan

July 5: Thursday Pakistan vs Australia

July 6: Friday Australia vs Zimbabwe

July 8: Sunday Final

Pakistan squad for Triangular Series

Fakhar Zaman, Muhammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Hussain Talat, Sarfraz Ahmad (captain/wicketkeeper), Harris Sohail, Shadab Khan, Muhammad Nawaz, Faheem Ashraf, Hassan Ali, Muhammad Amir, Usman Khan Shinwari, Shaheen Shah Afridi and Sahibzada Farhan.