ISLAMABAD – The Ministry of Energy Power Division has removed chief executives of four power distribution companies from their posts.

According to a notification issued Thursday, the officials removed from positions include Lahore Electric Supply Company (Lesco) Chief Executive Officer Wajid Kazmi, Peshawar Electric Supply Company (Pesco) CEO Shabbir Jillani, Sukkur Electric Power Company’s (Sepco) Abdul Latif Anjum and Quetta Electric Supply Company’s (Qesco) Rehmatullah Baloch.

The aforementioned officials have been removed from the position for failing to contain and abetting power theft in their areas.

Sources in the power division said the authorities concerned were mulling over sending the names of dismissed officials to the National Accountability Bureau (NAB).

The spokesperson of the ministry said 7.13 billion electricity units were provided to consumers in 2017 as compared to 6.58 billion units in 2016.

He said Power Division is trying to overcome line losses, theft, and other problems by taking strict actions.

A few days back Pakistan Electric Power Company Managing Director, Musaddiq Ahmed Khan informed the Public Accounts Committee that losses caused to 10 power supply companies of the country due power theft amounted to Rs213 billion.