LAHORE – A six-member cabinet of caretaker Chief Minister Punjab Hasan Askari took oath on Monday at a ceremony held at the Governor House.

Governor Punjab Rafique Rajwana administered the oath to the caretaker cabinet members which are responsible to administer the provincial matters and conduct free and fair elections until next government takes the oath.

The six-member cabinet comprises privatisation commission consultant Waqas Riaz, former chairman of Water and Power Development Authority (WAPDA) Zafar Mahmood, former Inspector-General of Punjab Shaukat Javed, and former provincial minister of excise and taxation Zia Haider Rizvi. The remaining two members are the former president of the Lahore chamber of commerce Anjum Nisar and Jawwad Sajid.

Dr Hasan Askari sworn in as interim Punjab CM amid PML-N’s reservations

Rizvi has also previously served as an adviser to the chief minister of Punjab and was appointed in 2013. He will be taking up the position of provincial minister for excise and taxation, Javed will take up the role as provincial interior minister, and Mahmood will take the responsibility of the minister of energy and power. Sajid will take up the portfolio of health minister while Nisar will head the minerals ministry.

Earlier, Dr Hassan Askari Rizvi, a political scientist and defence analyst, took oath as caretaker chief minister of Punjab on Friday amid reservations expressed by the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N).

The name of Askari was selected by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP)  after the parliamentary committee failed to reach the consensus.