LAHORE – The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Wednesday announced new central contracts for the year 2017-18 (July 1, 2017- June 30, 2018) for 35 players in four categories.

“The Central Contracts were awarded after keeping in mind the performances, fitness, and discipline of the players,” said a press statement from the PCB.

According to the new list, Mohammad Amir has been promoted from B category to A category; Wahab Riaz has been demoted from B to C category, while Imad Wasim and Hasan Ali have been promoted from C to B category.

Umar Akmal was not offered the central contract by the PCB. However, Mohammad Nawaz, who was suspended for two months in May for failing to report a corrupt approach, has been offered a category D contract.

“As per the understanding by players and the PCB, the monthly retainers for all categories are increased by 10%,” said the PCB.

Six players have been included in category A, four in category B, 11 in category C and 14 in category D.

Thirty five players have been placed into four categories.

Category A: Sarfraz Ahmed, Azhar Ali, Shoaib Malik, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Hafeez and Mohammad Amir.

Category B: Babar Azam, Imad Wasim, Asad Shafiq and Hasan Ali.

Category C: Wahab Riaz, Rahat Ali, Haris Sohail, Sami Aslam, Shan Masood, Sohail Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Junaid Khan, Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Abbas and Shadab Khan.

Category D: Mohammad Nawaz, Asif Zakir, Usman Salahuddin, Aamer Yamin, Usman Shinwari, Fahim Ashraf, Rumman Raees, Imam-ul-Haq, Bilal Asif, Mir Hamza, Umar Amin, Mohammad Hassan, Mohammad Asghar and Mohammad Irfan.


Category A: Rs 650,000

Category B: Rs 450,000

Category C: Rs 260,000

Category D: Rs 179,000