Justice Munib Akhtar to take oath as acting chief justice on May 18th

05:24 PM | 17 May, 2024
Justice Munib Akhtar

Justice Munib Akhtar will be sworn in as the acting Chief Justice of Pakistan tomorrow, May 18, due to Chief Justice Qazi Faez Isa's upcoming foreign visit. The swearing-in ceremony is scheduled to take place at the Supreme Court Judges Block at 10:30 a.m., with Justice Yahya Afridi administering the oath.

Chief Justice Qazi Faez Isa will be in Azerbaijan from May 18 to 22 to attend a significant regional conference, the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) meeting. This meeting serves as a crucial platform for regional countries to discuss key issues and enhance cooperation.

In the absence of Chief Justice Isa, Justice Munib Akhtar, who is the second most senior judge after Justice Mansoor Ali Shah, will take on the role of acting Chief Justice. Justice Mansoor Ali Shah is also currently abroad, necessitating Justice Akhtar's temporary appointment.

The ceremony is expected to be attended by Supreme Court judges and senior lawyers, highlighting the importance of this occasion. Justice Akhtar's assumption of the acting Chief Justice role underscores the judiciary's commitment to maintaining its functions seamlessly during the chief justice's absence.


Currency Rates in Pakistan - PKR to US Dollar, Euro, Pound, Dirham, Riyal - 20 June 2024

Pakistani rupee rates against US Dollar and other currencies on June 20, 2024 (Thursday) in open market.

USD to PKR Rate Today

US dollar was being quoted at 277.50 for buying and 280.65 for selling.

Euro's buying rate stands at 296 and selling rate is 299 while British Pound rate is 349.7 for buying, and 353.25 for selling.

UAE Dirham AED was at 74.80 and Saudi Riyal at 72.80.

Forex Rates

Currency Symbol Buying Selling
US Dollar USD 277.50 280.65
Euro EUR 296.00 299.00
UK Pound Sterling GBP 349.70 353.25
U.A.E Dirham AED 74.80 75.60
Saudi Riyal SAR 72.80 73.55
Australian Dollar AUD 182.00 184.00
Bahrain Dinar BHD 741.18 749.18
Canadian Dollar CAD 204.00 206.00
China Yuan CNY 38.43 38.83
Danish Krone DKK 40.18 40.58
Hong Kong Dollar HKD 35.66 36.01
Indian Rupee INR 3.33 3.44
Japanese Yen JPY 1.90 1.98
Kuwaiti Dinar KWD 909.34 909.34
Malaysian Ringgit MYR 59.30 59.90
New Zealand Dollar NZD 170.79 172.79
Norwegian Krone NOK 25.97 26.27
Omani Riyal OMR 723.88 731.88
Qatari Riyal QAR 76.42 77.12
Singapore Dollar SGD 203.65 205.65
Swedish Korona SEK 26.40 26.70
Swiss Franc CHF 311.90 314.40
Thai Baht THB 7.58 7.73


Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Sign up for Newsletter