New Zealand beat Pakistan by seven wickets in opening T20

10:21 PM | 21 Jan, 2018
New Zealand beat Pakistan by seven wickets in opening T20

WELLINGTON - New Zealand on Monday won the opening Twenty20 against Pakistan by seven wickets with 25 balls to spare in Wellington.

Colin Munro was left 49 not out as they reached their 106 run target for the loss of three wickets in the 16th over.

Sent into bat, Pakistan were all out for 105 with two balls remaining in their innings. Babar Azam made 41 while for New Zealand Tim Southee took three for 13 and Seth Rance had figures of three for 26.

The tourists lost both openers Fakhar Zaman and Umar Amin early session while Mohammad Nawaz and Haris Sohail were the next to go, as Pakistan were reduced to 22-4 before six overs.

Shoaib Malik, Pakistan's experienced allrounder, returned home from New Zealand after suffering a freak head injury during the third one-day international. The former Pakistan captain will miss the three-match T20 series starting from tomorrow.

Hit on the head by a wayward throw from Colin Munro's while taking a run in the match, Malik also couldn't play the last two of the five-match ODI series which Pakistan lost five nil.

Playing XI

Pakistan: Umar Amin, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Sarfraz Ahmed, Babar Azam, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashradf, Mohammad Nawaz, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, Rumman Raees.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, Tom Bruce, Ross Taylor, Anaru Kitchen, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee (capt), Ish Sodhi, Seth Rance.

Umpires: Wayne Knights (NZL), Chris Brown (NZL)

TV Umpire: Shaun Haig (NZL)

Match referee: Richie Richardson (WIS)