Finch’s ton leads Australia to comfortable eight wickets win against Pakistan

03:37 PM | 24 Mar, 2019
Finch’s ton leads Australia to comfortable eight wickets win against Pakistan
SHARJAH –  Australia's Aaron Finch’s unbeatable 153 runs innings helped his team to an eight-wicket win in the second ODI against Pakistan here on Sunday.

Pakistan set 285 runs target after winning the toss and opted to bat first. Wicketkeeper-batsman Muhammad Rizwan scored 115 runs off 126 balls, and skipper Shoaib Malik made 60 off 61 balls.

In reply, the Aussies chased the score in 47.5 overs. Opener Usman Khawaja scored 88 runs and Glen Maxwell departed on 19 after a runout.

Meanwhile, for Pakistan, spinner Yasir Shah picked one wicket in the match.

The Australian team lead the series 2-0. The third match will be played in Abu Dhabi (March 27) and the last two in Dubai (March 29 and 31).

Green Shirts hope the opening pair of Imam-ul-Haq and Shan Masood would give them a great start. Aaron Finch's side is unchanged from their series-opening victory on Friday, while Pakistan have handed a debut to exciting teenage quick Mohammad Hasnain in today’s match at the Sharjah Cricket Association Stadium.

Despite posting 280/5 on the scoreboard, Pakistan crumbled in the first ODI against Australia as the visitors chased down the target comfortably and won the match by eight wickets. Australian skipper Aaron Finch and Shaun Marsh were the key players for the visitors as the duo added 173 runs for the second wicket. Finch was sent back to the pavilion by Mohammad Abbas on 116, while his partner remained unbeaten on 91 and guided his team to victory.

Australia beat Pakistan by 8 wickets in first ODI 05:56 PM | 20 Mar, 2019

SHARJAH – Australia humbled Pakistan in the first One Day International of the five match series being played at the ...


Pakistan XI: Shan Masood, Imam Ul Haq, Haris Sohail, Umar Akmal, Shoaib Malik (c), Faheem Ashraf, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Yasir Shah, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Hasnain

Australia XI: Aaron Finch (c), Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Alex Carey (wk), Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jhye Richardson, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa

Timeline of PAK-AUS series

First ODI: Australia won by eight wickets

Second ODI: v Pakistan, March 24 in Sharjah

Third ODI: v Pakistan, March 27 in Abu Dhabi

Fourth ODI: v Pakistan, March 29 in Dubai

Fifth ODI: v Pakistan, March 31 in Dubai