Some elements trying to disrupt Senate elections, says Ahsan Iqbal

  • 'You will not find a single example in the world where a member of political party which holds only five seats becomes chief minister'

ISLAMABAD – Interior Minister Ahsan Iqbal has once cast doubt over the timely conduct of Senate elections amid selection of Mir Abdul Quddus Bizenjo as Balochistan chief minister.

Talking to media on Sunday, he lamented over the political situation in Balochistan, adding that some elements were making efforts to avert the upcoming Senate elections, going to be held in March.

From 544 votes to provincial head, here’s how Bizenjo dashed to CM House

Slamming selection of PML-Q leader Bizenjo, he said: “You will not find a single example in the world where a member of political party which holds only five seats in provincial assembly becomes chief minister”.

He said that the game being playing in Balochistan will yield serious consequences. He said that dissolving any assembly would not be in interest of the country. He added that elections should be held on time, but no one is certain about timely conduct of the elections

Bizenjo becomes Balochistan CM

Last week, the provincial assembly of Pakistan’s land wise biggest province, Balochistan elected Abdul Quddus Bizenjo as the new Chief Minister of the province.

The Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid candidate won the election after securing 41 votes against his competitors, to serve the violence-torn province for around 6 months.

A total 54 votes were polled by the lawmakers and Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party’s (PkMAP) Agha Syed Liaquat Ali bagged 13 votes.

Another PkMap candidate Abdul Rahim Ziyaratwal, who had filed his nominations, had withdrawn from the race at the last moment.

On the other hand, National Party had neither nominated their candidate nor announced support to any candidate.

Along with his party members, Bizenjo who belongs to Awaran district of Balochistan was being supported by disgruntled members of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz and Jamiat Ulema-s-Islam (F).

He was proposed by Jan Muhammad Jamali, Sardar Bhootani, Dr Ruquyia Saeed Hashmi, Zafarullah Zehri and Ghulam Dastagir Badini, and seconded by Sarfaraz Bugti, Amanullah Notezai, Prince Ahmed Ali, Mir Aamir Khan Rind and Molvi Maazullah.