Asif Ali Zardari elected 14th President of Pakistan

08:40 AM | 9 Mar, 2024
Asif Ali Zardari elected 14th President of Pakistan

ISLAMABAD – Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Asif Ali Zardari was elected the 14th President of Pakistan for second time on Saturday.

Zardari, who is now set to succeed the outgoing President Dr Arif Alvi, defeated Sunni Ittehad Council's candidate Mahmood Khan Achakzai in the presidential race.

The PPP leader was fielded as joint candidate by the ruling alliance led by Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N).

Vote Breakdown 

Of the 398 votes cast in the National Assembly and Senate, Asif Zardari received 255 votes, while Achakzai bagged 119.

In 62-member Balochistan Assembly, Asif Ali Zardari bagged 47 votes, said Chief Minister Sarfaraz Ali Bugti, adding that SIC candidate did not get a single vote. 

In Sindh Assembly, PPP's Zardari garnered 151 votes while the SIC candidate received only nine votes.

In 118-member Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly, Achakzai received 91 of the total votes, while Zardari got 17 votes. The presiding officer has rejected one vote.

In 353-member Punjab Assembly, Zardari secured 246 votes, whereas Achakzai received 100 votes.

Electoral Votes 

The Election Commission of Pakistan announced that Asif Zardari secured 411 electoral votes while his rival candidate garnered 181 votes. 

In National Assembly and Senate, the PPP stalwart received 255 votes while Achakzai secured 119 votes. 

Zardari secured 58 electoral votes in Sindh Assembly, whereas Achakzai received only three votes.  

In Punjab Assembly, the ruling coalition’s joint candidate grabbed 43 electoral votes while SIC-backed candidate received 18 votes. 

In KP Assembly, Achakzai secured 41 presidential votes while Zardari managed to get only 8 votes. 

In Balochistan Assembly, Asif Zardari secured 47 votes while no any vote was cast for Achakzai.

Pakistan's electoral watchdog announced that the election to pick the 14th President will be held at the National Assembly and all the provincial assemblies from 10:00 am-4:00 pm.

PML-N and PPP-led six-party alliance picked former president Asif Zardari for the coveted post.

Meanwhile, Mahmood Achakzai was named as Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and SIC candidate for the President slot. Independent candidates bagged 93 NA seats.

Daily Pakistan Global Web Desk


US Dollar, Euro, Dirham, Pound, Riyal Rate in Pakistan Today - Currency Rates 23 July 2024

Pakistani currency rates against US Dollar and other currencies on July 23, 2024 (Tuesday) in open market.

USD to PKR Rate Today

US dollar was being quoted at 279.25 for buying and 280.70 for selling. Euro's buying rate remains stable at 354.5 and selling rate is 358.35.

British Pound rate is 354.75 for buying, and 358.25 for selling. UAE Dirham AED was at 76.4 and Saudi Riyal lowered to 73.60.

Currency Rates Today

Currency Symbol Buying Selling
US Dollar USD 279.15 280.85
Euro EUR 301.25 303.25
UK Pound Sterling GBP 354.75 358.25
U.A.E Dirham AED 76.40 77.15
Saudi Riyal SAR 73.60 74.32
Australian Dollar AUD 184.75 186.55
Bahrain Dinar BHD 741.15 749.15
Canadian Dollar CAD 203.50 205.50
China Yuan CNY 38.35 38.75
Danish Krone DKK 40.05 40.45
Hong Kong Dollar HKD 35.70 36.05
Indian Rupee INR 36.05 36.05
Japanese Yen JPY 1.91 1.99
Kuwaiti Dinar KWD 908.25 917.35
Malaysian Ringgit MYR 58.95 59.75
New Zealand Dollar NZD 169.24 171.24
Norwegians Krone NOK 26.04 26.34
Omani Riyal OMR 722.87 730.89
Qatari Riyal QAR 76.39 77.09
Singapore Dollar SGD 202.00 204.00
Swedish Korona SEK 26.40 26.70
Swiss Franc CHF 309.05 311.55
Thai Bhat THB 7.50 7.65


Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Sign up for Newsletter