T20 World Cup rolls into action today as Oman face Papua New Guinea in first qualifier

Web Desk 10:53 AM | 17 Oct, 2021
T20 World Cup rolls into action today as Oman face Papua New Guinea in first qualifier

DUBAI – The wait is over as ICC Twenty 20 World Cup rolls into action today, the first qualifier of the mega event will be played between Oman and Papua New Guinea at Al Amerat Cricket Ground, while Bangladesh will face Scotland in the second fixture.

The tournament will be played at three venues, Dubai International Stadium, Sheikh Zayed Stadium, and Oman Cricket Academy Ground.

API Response: Twitter / ?

Nothing to see here

Looks like this page doesn’t exist. Here’s a picture of a poodle sitting in a chair for your trouble.

Looking for this?
A primped poodle with a bow in its hair sitting in a chair like a human.

The cricket carnival, in which 16 teams will compete, is divided into three stages named Round 1, The Super 12 stage, and knockouts which include the semi-final and the final.

In the first round [Round 1], eight teams will be competing in two groups and the top two from each of the groups will move to the Super 12 stage.

Later, the top team from Group A and the second seed from Group B advance to Group 1 of the Super 12s, with the top seed from Group B and the second seed from Group A going into Group 2.

Likewise, the Super 12 stage is also divided into two groups featuring six teams. The top two teams from each group will progress to the final stage.

Round 1

Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, Netherlands, Namibia

Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Oman

Super 12

Group 1: England, Australia, South Africa, West Indies, top team Group A, second-team Group B

Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, second-team Group A, top team Group B

Meanwhile, the neighboring arch-rivals Pakistan and India will face each other in Dubai on October 24 in one of the biggest clashes of the event.

Men in Green have won their last Twenty20 cup in the UAE in 2009 while Pakistani skipper Babar Azam is optimistic to slam India saying their familiarity with the UAE pitches will help them break the jinx.

On the other hand, India’s Virat Kohli played down the famous rivalry, stating the match with Shaheens as ‘just another game’. “I have always approached this game as just another game of cricket. I know there is a lot of hype created around this game more so with ticket sales and the demands for tickets”, he said.

Meanwhile, the winner will share part of the $US5.6m allocated as prize money for the mega event. The winning team will receive $1.6m, with the runners up receiving $800,000 while both losing semi-finalists will receive $0.4 million.

Former T20 World Cup winners

India  (2007)
Pakistan  (2009)
England  (2010)
West Indies  (2012)
Sri Lanka  (2014)
West Indies  (2016)

Web Desk
Web Desk

Daily Pakistan Global Web Desk


Today's currency exchange rates in Pakistan - Dollar, Euro, Pound, Riyal rates on May 29, 2023

KARACHI - Following are the foreign currency exchange rates for US Dollar, Saudi Riyal, UK Pound Sterling, U.A.E. Dirham, European Euro, and other foreign currencies in Pakistan open market on May 29, 2023 (Monday).

Source: Forex Association of Pakistan. (last update 09:00 AM)

Currency Symbol Buying Selling
US Dollar ‎USD 307.9 311.15
Euro EUR 330 333
UK Pound Sterling GBP 381 384.5
U.A.E Dirham AED 84.6 85.4
Saudi Riyal SAR 82.6 83.4
Australian Dollar AUD 201 203
Bahrain Dinar BHD 762.21 770.21
Canadian Dollar CAD 225.5 227.5
China Yuan CNY 40.6 41
Danish Krone DKK 41.39 41.78
Hong Kong Dollar HKD 36.6 36.95
Indian Rupee INR 3.47 3.58
Japanese Yen JPY 2.15 2.20
Kuwaiti Dinar KWD 932.2 941.2
Malaysian Ringgit MYR 62.42 63.02
New Zealand Dollar NZD 176.98 178.98
Norwegians Krone NOK 26.14 26.44
Omani Riyal OMR 744.58 752.57
Qatari Riyal ‎QAR 78.73 79.43
Singapore Dollar SGD 215 217
Swedish Korona SEK 26.73 27.03
Swiss Franc CHF 316.34 318.84
Thai Bhat THB 8.28 8.43

Today's gold rates in Pakistan – May 29 2023

KARACHI - The price of a single tola of 24-karat gold in Pakistan is Rs 235,800 on Monday. The price of 10 grams of 24k gold was recorded at Rs202,160.   

Likewise, 10 grams of 22k gold were being traded for Rs163,624 while a single tola of 22-karat gold was being sold at Rs 190,880.

Note: The gold rate in Pakistan is fluctuating according to the international market so the price is never been fixed. The below rates are provided by local gold markets and Sarafa Markets of different cities.

City Gold Silver
Lahore PKR 235,800 PKR 2,505
Karachi PKR 235,800 PKR 2,505
Islamabad PKR 235,800 PKR 2,505
Peshawar PKR 235,800 PKR 2,505
Quetta PKR 235,800 PKR 2,505
Sialkot PKR 235,800 PKR 2,505
Attock PKR 235,800 PKR 2,505
Gujranwala PKR 235,800 PKR 2,505
Jehlum PKR 235,800 PKR 2,505
Multan PKR 235,800 PKR 2,505
Bahawalpur PKR 235,800 PKR 2,505
Gujrat PKR 235,800 PKR 2,505
Nawabshah PKR 235,800 PKR 2,505
Chakwal PKR 235,800 PKR 2,505
Hyderabad PKR 235,800 PKR 2,505
Nowshehra PKR 235,800 PKR 2,505
Sargodha PKR 235,800 PKR 2,505
Faisalabad PKR 235,800 PKR 2,505
Mirpur PKR 235,800 PKR 2,505


Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Sign up for Newsletter