Annular Solar Eclipse on Thursday, Tanzania to witness ring of fire

01:33 PM | 31 Aug, 2016
Annular Solar Eclipse on Thursday, Tanzania to witness ring of fire
Share
LAHORE (Staff Report) - An annular Solar Ecplise is set to take place on Thursday (September 1) while the spectators in Africa continent will be able to witness the tremendous sight.

According to the NASA, the Solar Eclipse will be visible in Gabon, Republic of the Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Tanzania, Mozambique or Madagascar and South Africa.

The best view will be available for the residents of Tanzania, where the sun and the moon will form annular projection.

The eclipse will start at around 6:00am UTC (11:00am Pakistan Standard Time) and last for some six hours, ending at 12:05pm UTC (5:05pm Pakistan Standard Time). The maximum eclipse will take place 9:08am UTC (2:08pm Pakistan Standard Time) lasting for only 3 minutes and 6 seconds.

SE2016Sep01A

The solar eclipse occurs when the Moon passes between Earth and the Sun, obscuring the image of the sun to a viewer on earth totally or partly, while an annular solar eclipse occurs when the Moon's apparent diameter is smaller than the sun's, blocking most of the sun's light and causing the Sun to look like an annulus (ring).

Editor's Note: If you are not a resident of any of the countries where the Solar Eclipse will be visible, you can simply follow the livestream at the same time.