Dr Qibla Ayaz appointed chairman of Council of Islamic Ideology

  • The council was headless from December 2015

ISLAMABAD – Dr Qibla Ayaz, the former dean Faculty of Islamic and Oriental Studies of the University of Peshawar, was appointed the chairman of the Council of Islamic Ideology (CII).

According to a notification, President Mamnoon Hussain also appointed other members of the council which include Qari Abdul Rashid, Ghulam Hussain Sialvi, Peer Roohul Husnain Mueen, Allah Bukhsh Kalyar, Maulana Muhammad Raghib Hussain Naeemi, Allama Arif Hussain Wahidi, Dr Abdul Hakeem Akbari, Sahibzada Sajidur Rehman, Khurshid Nadeem and Hafiz Fazlur Rahim.

The appointments of the new chairman and members have been made for a tenure of three years. According to rules of the council, at least four meetings of the CII are mandatory during a year and a quorum of seven members is necessary for calling meeting.

The council consists of 20 members and 10 members of the body had completed their tenure last year.

Reportedly, a list of 30 nominations had been forwarded to the prime minister through Ministry of Law and Justice for finalising names of the new members.

Let it be known that the top slot of council was lying vacant from December 2015, compelling the legislators to decide on Islamic issues merely on the basis of consultations.

The council provides legal advice to the government on Islamic issues. However, its recommendations are not legally binding