Govt announces four public holidays for Eidul Fitr

  • The interior minister has approved the holidays from June 15 to June 18.

ISLAMABAD – As the holy month Ramazan has stepped into its third Ashrah, the interior ministry on Friday approved a summary for four holidays on the eve of Eidul Fitr.

The interior minister has approved the holidays from June 15 to June 18, a notification regarding which has been released on Friday.

The holy month of Ramazan, which began in May, is likely to end on Friday. The holy month shall last for 29 days or 30 days subject to the appearance of the moon. As Muslims follow Hijri Calendar, Eid-ul-Fitr is being celebrated on first of Shawwal.

On June 4, Pakistan Meteorological Department said that Eid al-Fitr is expected to fall on June 16 this year.

Eid al-Fitr to be celebrated on June 16 across Pakistan, predicts Met office

According to Met officials, the chances of Shawwaal moon to be sighted on the evening of June 14 is not very high and therefore, there is a high chance that the Holy month of Ramazan will comprise 30 days and Eid al-Fitr will be celebrated on June 16, all across Pakistan.

The details of Shawwaal moon sighting will be available from June 4 on The Climate Data Processing Centre’s official website, reported Express Tribune.

The central Ruet-e-Hilal Committee meeting is scheduled to take place on Thursday, June 14, to confirm the Shawwaal moon sighting.

In case the MET office estimation is proved inaccurate, then Eidul Fitr will be celebrated on Friday, June 15.