JOHANNESBURG – South Africa defeated Pakistan in the second Twenty20 match at Johannesburg on Sunday to extend their dominance over Pakistan across all formats.

Chasing 189 to win, Pakistan fell short of 7 runs in the end despite Babar Azam’s 90. South Africa lead the T20 series 2-0.

Shoaib Malik continued to be the stand-in skipper.

The Proteas were without the services of regular skipper Du Plessis, who has been rested for the remaining two games against Pakistan. In his absence, David Miller led the side.

Wicket-keeper batsman Quinton de Kock has also been ruled out of the remaining T20I with a groin injury.

The match started at 05:30pm (Pakistan Standard Time).

Team Pakistan made on change left-arm fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi replaced Faheem Ashraf.

South Africa fielded two new caps in opening batsman Janneman Malan, 22, and fast bowler Lutho Sipamla, 20.

They replaced captain Faf du Plessis, who is being rested for the final two matches of the series, and batsman-wicketkeeper Gihahn Cloete.

Pakistan’s record of 11 T20 wins came to a halt as South Africa beat them by 6 runs in the first T20I at Newlands on Friday. In a closely fought encounter, the match went down to the last over where 16 were needed but the home team held their nerves to eke out a win.

Malik scored 49 while Shamsi picked 2/33. But the stand out performer was David Miller with 4 catches and 2 direct hits. Chasing 193, Pakistan ended at 186/9.

Earlier, 78 from captain Faf du Plessis and a rapid 74 from Reeza Hendricks helped South Africa up to 192/6 at the end of their innings. Usman Shinwari took three wickets for Pakistan.


South Africa: David Miller (captain), Reeza Hendricks, Janneman Malan, Rassie van der Dussen, Heinrich Klaasen (wkt), Andile Phehlukwayo, Chris Morris, Lutho Sipamla, Beuran Hendricks, Junior Dala, Tabraiz Shamsi

Pakistan: Shoaib Malik (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam, Hussain Talat, Mohammad Rizwan (wkt), Asif Ali, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Shinwari

Umpires: Adrian Holdstock, Allahudien Paleker (both RSA)

TV umpire: Bongani Jele (RSA)

Match referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)