PESHAWAR (Staff Report) – Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz candidate Arbab Muhammad Waseem Khan has been declared victorious in the PK-8 Peshawar by-elections.

According to unofficial results, Waseem bagged 11,781 votes. Pakistan People’s Party’s Tamash Khan got 10,789 votes, while Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s Shehzad Khan managed to earn 9,347 votes and JUI-F’s Asif Iqbal garnered 9,308 votes.


In a tweet, PML-N leader Maryam Nawaz congratulated Arbab Muhammad Waseem Khan on the victory.

Earlier, an uninterrupted day-long polling process was held in the provincial assembly constituency, starting from 8:00 am till 5:00 pm.

As many as 15 candidates were running for the by-election, including PML-N’s Arbab Muhammad Waseem, PPP’s Tehmas Khan, PTI’s Shahzad Khan and JUI-F’s Asif Iqbal Daudzai.

The constituency has over 150,000 registered votes, out of which 56,000 voters are women. The Election Commission of Pakistan had established 97 polling stations for smooth polling process.

The ECP had declared 41 polling stations as extremely sensitive, where contingents of the Pakistan Army were deployed both inside and outside the polling stations.

The seat had fallen vacant after the death of PML-N’s MPA Arbab Akbar Hayat.